The photographic explorations of a former film student.

Notions

I have a collection of sewing notions left over from crafts I used to make some time ago. This includes the normal thread and snaps, but also a lot of fake flowers, lace, and other sorts of trim. I keep them because I delude myself into thinking I have the time and therefore will make the things I always wanted to make. The fact is, I don’t have the time, and I won’t make them. I guess it’s a sentimental attachment, or maybe I just like pretty things.

This, however, is a sentimental attachment. I found this old scrap of lace while doing some New Year’s cleaning. It was on a “wedding dress” of sorts my mom made for one of my toys when I was very young. If I had a scrapbook, I would paste this in it, but I don’t. Right now, it’s living with a bunch of stuff that would go in a scrapbook if I did have one.

It’s odd the things we hold on to and the things we get rid of.  

 

Next Time: Snow Shots or an Old Camera

It finally snowed. Now all I have to do is find some sun and go out and take pictures. Or, I could go with the camera. The newest addition to my father’s collection is an interesting one.

 

 

 

 

3 responses

  1. Back when I sewed (a very long time ago) we’d (my mom and I) would always keep our scraps in a bag dedicated to each project. Often the lace would work its way into another skirt or dress… I think growing up when she did, she was teaching me to be frugal. Me.. I just get attached to pretty things:)

    January 16, 2012 at 4:34 am

  2. Very nice work, well done.

    January 19, 2012 at 7:15 pm

  3. I understand – I have a few drawers of stuff that may never get used, but I keep them all the same!

    January 19, 2012 at 10:36 pm

Leave a Reply

