The photographic explorations of a former film student.

Snow!

It finally snowed in my little corner of the world. Fortunately, there wasn’t much ice. My sister’s car, Howie, might disagree with that last sentence if he could talk.

Last weekend, I went out to enjoy the snow at a nearby forest preserve. Since it was a sunny day, I passed a few other people, including four cross-country skiers.

I’d wanted to photograph these odd pitcher-shaped features on this tree for several months, but I never could seem to get the lighting or angle quite right. Now that the leaves are gone, it works much better.

I love the way this stump sticks out of the snow, covered in fungus for added texture.

Even after the snow, the dried remains of a few flowers hang on.

The world is full of all sorts of interesting patterns and designs. This fallen tree branch is one example.

Ice on the small creek in the park was at various levels of thickness. Loose snow and rippling water gave it a sparkling look.

Next Time: Vintage Camera

It’s about time I do another camera post. Courtesy of my uncle, my father has an amazing new addition to his camera collection. I have arranged to borrow said addition for my next post. I think you’ll like it.

4 responses

  1. The vintage camera intrigues me!

    January 30, 2012 at 3:57 am

  2. Such pretty snow pictures! We haven’t had much snow here for several weeks. I sure miss it!!

    January 30, 2012 at 4:37 am

    • We haven’t had much winter in our area this year. It’s back up in the 40s this week already!

      January 30, 2012 at 11:46 pm

  3. Wow, amazing photos. 🙂

    January 30, 2012 at 11:44 am

Leave a Reply

