The photographic explorations of a former film student.

Fall Leaves

It’s November, and it’s been windy out. In my area, that means most of the leaves are off the trees and blowing around the universe. You think you’ve raked, but there’s still more on the trees, and if your neighbors don’t bother, there’s no sense in doing it either. The last tree to drop leaves is the oak.

 

Way back when I was in kindergarten, I used to love collecting leaves. It was considered somewhat educational at that point in my life. Different species, basic plant parts,  that kind of thing. The main concern of a leaf-collecting kindergarten kid? Pretty! I was always sad when they dried out and crumbled away.

 

Now, I enjoy photographing fall leaves in all their states, from still a bit green to all dried up. The variety is amazing.

 

This one is so pink on the back it looks artificial.

 

It’s narrow red counterpart wanted a darker background.

 

Next Week: The TV Experiment or My Adventures in Stock Photography

Several months ago, I saw a set of photographs someone took at the moment they turned off a CRT. I’d like to try it for myself.

4 responses

  1. Absolutely beautiful. Perfect images of fall.

    November 7, 2011 at 6:30 am

  2. My mum told me yesterday that in Ukrainian November is called “when the leaves fall” or something along those lines. I don’t speak it myself and therefore can’t confirm it, but it certainly would be accurate!

    November 7, 2011 at 10:15 am

  3. StrangeLittleGirl Photography

    Nice shots! What is it about those stubborn oaks?

    November 25, 2011 at 4:07 am

  4. Wow! Excellent shots the colors of the leaves are breath taking. Thanks for sharing your work.

    Carmella at The Colorful Spot!

    December 23, 2011 at 3:23 am

Leave a Reply

