The photographic explorations of a former film student.

Fall Scenic Part 2: Sun and the Rock

A week after my lone, cloudy weather excursion, I returned to the same park in sunny weather and accompanied by my father. Dad shoots with a view camera and 4″x5″ film. He was lured by the promise of aspen trees in their fall grandeur. I really wanted to check out the south trails of the park, which are farther down the curvy two-lane highway from the north trails I visited the previous week. Unfortunately, hunting is permitted in south trails all fall, and Dad and I had no desire to get accidentally shot. However, we were able to explore the large rock formations by the river.

bluffandriver

 

pinesonrock

 

leafinwater

After lunch, we headed back to the north section of the park. Dad found his aspens, and since I joined him in surveying, I thought I’d take a photo as well.

Aspens

Later in the day, I found this tree. I loved how dramatically the sun was hitting it and illuminating the leaves.

Illuminatedtree

 

Next Time:

Jewelry or archive portrait.

One response

  1. Beautiful pictures!!! You have a good eye for such things!!

    November 18, 2013 at 5:58 am

Leave a Reply

