The photographic explorations of a former film student.

Novel Knickknacks

Most of us hang on to things we don’t need – knickknacks with no real purpose or objects we have a more functional alternative for. Why? Maybe they’re cute or pretty. Maybe they have some significance in our lives like souvenirs, childhood mementos, or objects that belonged to relatives or friends. Whatever the reason, here’s some stuff I’ve kept around.

“We Give A Hoot!” These key chains were once given out by many businesses. As far as I can find, they were connected to an environmental and anti-littering campaign in the 1970s. These are from a place my Aunt worked for. My family had a whole box once, but I gave most of them away when I was in college. I had to keep a few for their vintage charm.

GiveAHoot

This is my Bean Bank. I’ve had him literally as long as I can remember. His job is to hold my coin collection, which I am not at all serious about and frequently forget exists. Isn’t he cute though? I’ve always been fond of this guy.

HumanBean

Do you keep anything novel or unnecessary for sentimental reasons? Feel free to share in the comments.

Leave a Reply

