The photographic explorations of a former film student.

Returning Indoors: Mugs

It’s cold outside, so I’ve turned my attention back to indoor photography. Mugs were a subject I’ve been thinking to shoot again, so I chose a couple and began dusting off my tabletop skills.

This is a recent mug I bought for my father after I knocked another mug out of the cupboard on top of his old one and cracked it badly on the rim. Incase you think me extra clumsy, I was not the only person in the household to make that blunder. Someone else did it to my mug. Anyway, I owed Dad a new mug. It is sturdy and manly and not made in China, so he is satisfied.

DadMugMorning

This is my mug. The very same one that was chipped just as I chipped my father’s former mug. I can’t fix it in real life, but I can Photoshop the chip. For this shot, I decided to leave the teabag in and use the base of an old lamp and a book for props. I am much more likely to blog or otherwise work on the computer while drinking tea than I would be to read a book, but the old book looks way better in a photo than my computer would.

MyMugAndTea

Next Time: Christmas

I’ll be photographing decorations or some other Christmas related items in honor of the season.

3 responses

  1. Love the photo.

    December 8, 2014 at 2:24 am

  2. I’ve never thought of photographing mugs, but I like the idea! 😄

    December 8, 2014 at 2:33 am

  3. I enjoyed this. Simple and cozy.

    December 8, 2014 at 5:52 pm

Leave a Reply

