The photographic explorations of a former film student.

Chicago Exploration

About a week ago, I went to Chicago. Big cities aren’t really my thing, I’m more of a table top and forest preserve kind of photographer. However, I occasionally like to explore different places, and if I’m going to go, I’m going to take photos.

The lion outside the Art Institute was a big hit. Lots of people wanted a picture of him or even with him. I had to wait awhile to get a clear shot.

Lion

LionCU

Because it’s Illinois, they planted corn in the Millennium  Park gardens. Corn and skyscrapers looks a bit funny to me. I’m used to seeing corn and barns or corn and more corn.

CornInTheCity

Metal, skyscrapers, and metal.

MetalUponMetal

The Bean. You can’t go to Chicago without seeing The Bean and having some fun with the reflections. Time was limited, or else I’d have played more.

TheBean

Columns and a fountain. This just looked cool.

ColumnsAndFountain

Ubiquitous pigeons.

bird

Old water tower. Quite the relic.

WaterTower

A shorter, but more interesting building.

ClockTower

Tall skyscraper near Navy Pier.

SkyScraper

Navy Pier itself. If you ever go, I do recommend the totally free stained glass museum. It has all kinds of lovely stained glass panels, even Tiffany. Since I wasn’t sure about copyright issues and didn’t have a tripod, I’m not posting any photos of that. Navy Pier is full of restaurants, shops, boat tours, and other attractions (including a children’s museum and an I-MAX). A tourist could spend all day at Navy Pier alone.

NavyPier

Thus ended my excursion to Chicago. I’d like to go back and visit some museums someday.

Leave a Reply

