The photographic explorations of a former film student.

Religious Architecture

 

The photo club I belong to had an architectural photography contest about a week ago. Since I don’t photograph much architecture, I grabbed my camera and headed out to find the Buddhist temple everyone was talking about. It wasn’t so easy to find. I kept looping around the section of road I thought it was on. Finally, I stopped and pulled into a side street where two churches and a mosque were located. The lawn of one church was getting mowed, and the mosque was a little busy, so I concentrated on the other church. After a little hunting around, I saw something. It took three exposures and ten curves layers to make it work, but yes, this is what I saw.

ChruchRoofandWindow

After that, I decided to give finding the Buddhist temple one more try. This time, I found out that the road it is on goes farther south than I thought it did. It appears to end, but coming at it from a different direction, I saw a sign showing that the road does indeed continue south slightly east of its previous position. Success: a genuine Buddhist temple. What an impressively decorated structure!

BuddhistTemple

TempleRoof

Ironically, I didn’t end up entering these photos in the club contest. I was sick with stomach flu for three days after taking them. I retouched two and had them printed later in the week only to be reminded that the contest had past. Fortunately, my sense of time has returned, and the club did accomplish some of its purpose in my work: I photographed something I normally wouldn’t have photographed, and I edited my images for competition. Thanks also to my Dad for giving me some black and white editing pointers.

Next Time: Nature or Cat on Books

I’ve shot some nature, and a plan to shoot more. However, there’s an animal themed Summer reading program at the local library.

Leave a Reply

