The photographic explorations of a former film student.

Black on Black Part 1: Shoe Toes

I need to work on my black on black, so for some silly reason, I started with a tough subject: patent leather shoes with fabric bows and gold ornaments. The basic strategy is to use black velvet for a background, get the subject as far from the background as possible, and set the subject on a smaller elevated surface so you can keep as much light as possible off the black velvet. Not always easy.

First, I tried a more side on view. I’m pretty happy with the lighting (though I did touch-up in Photoshop). The angle, however, was not the best.

sideBlackonBlack

I had a little more trouble lighting the 3/4 view, but overall, I like it better.

3-quarterBlackonBlack

Next Time: Archive or Black on Black

One response

  1. These look beautiful!! I love the gold contrast with the black.
    thesartorialcoquette.com

    March 10, 2014 at 2:27 am

Leave a Reply

