The photographic explorations of a former film student.

The Big Project: Textile

I confess. I’ve committed a huge violation of one of the cardinal rules of home organization and decluttering: I’ve kept a sweater I’ve had for ten years and worn fewer than five times. But I’m sure you’ll agree it’s an exception to the rule. It’s too pretty to get rid of.

SpringSweater

The biggest challenge photographing this sweater was trying to get it arranged nicely. The next biggest issue was perspective. I extended my tripod as far as it would go, positioned it close to the table the sweater was on, and climbed on a chair. As I’m writing this, I’m thinking I could have moved my set-up to a lower surface, such as the floor. The best ideas always come later. Anyway, I tweaked it a bit in Photoshop, then moved on to my next shot.

Since these lovely flowers give the sweater its charm, a close up shot was a must.

flowerdetail

I decided to get a close-up of the button as well.

buttondetail

 

 Next Time: Pour Shot or Vintage Items for Stock Photography

Depending on family plans for the holiday and other events in my life, I will either finish off The Big Project with a pour shot or go for some simple shots I can submit to stock sites. The pour shot is a photograph of liquid being poured into a glass or another liquid. Ideally, the liquid should be frozen by a quick exposure and flash. It’s messy, and good timing makes for more impressive shots.

One response

  1. You have a wonderful blog and your talent shows in all your impressive photos.
    Keep up the good work!

    April 22, 2013 at 1:08 am

Leave a Reply

