The photographic explorations of a former film student.

Christmas Colors

Everybody knows the old traditional Christmas colors: red and green. But increasingly, stores are offering decor in any color you fancy. Although I prefer the traditional, I followed the counter-culture this year and included a little pink in my decorating pallet. This was more of a “Man, where am I gonna store those pink vases?” moment than a brash throwing off of tradition. I bought some silver and white artificial flowers to accommodate my storage plans. While I was at it, I decided I may as well leave out this darling beaded angel. She’s probably a craft made by some housewife decades ago. I found her in a small town thriftshop a few years back and thought she was pretty.
pinkandsilverangel
Another slightly more traditional approach is the cream and gold color scheme. It’s rich and warm, but not very colorful. I’m in favor of having a little of it here and there.
goldangel
So yes, I favor the traditional. Christmas comes at a dark, bleak, and often snowy time of the year in my corner of the world. Red is warm and bright, while green reminds us of life and vegetation. It’s what we need right now. Warmth, brightness, life, and beauty.
redandgreen

Merry Christmas Everyone!

Next Time: 2012 Year in Review

2 responses

  1. Neves

    Nice! Red and green can get really boring sometimes. I love your alternative colors, and the dark green instead of the bright green.

    December 19, 2012 at 3:34 am

    • I never really thought of the bright green as a Christmas color, which is why I don’t like it in holiday M&Ms.

      December 19, 2012 at 11:37 pm

Leave a Reply

