The photographic explorations of a former film student.

Miscellaneous Rings

Let me be honest, I don’t wear rings. Not only do they get in the way, but I sprained my right ring finger doing something stupid when I was 9, and it has been a little out of whack ever since then. Rings go on, but they don’t come off too easily. The only reason I’ve kept them is so I can photograph them.

This turquoise ring was my aunt’s untill she was no longer able to wear it. (Knuckles keep growing through the years.) It’s a bit chunky and could probably use some more cleaning, but I like the look. The turquoise and the large leaf design give it a nice earthy sort of character very different from most of my other jewelry.

I found this opal ring in thrift store when I was in junior high. The stones sparkle in the light, and the colors are like sunset. It’s odd, but I love it.

This purple cubic zirconia was a gift from my mother and was a fine complement to my wardrobe back in my ring wearing days. It’s more like most of my jewelry. Small, nice-looking, and costume. I’ve never cared for gaudy and I don’t want the liability of wearing “the real thing”, not to mention the price.

Sometimes, I still think about wearing the turquoise or the opal. Incase you’re wondering, the opal is the only one to make it on my finger while I was shooting for this post. My love of things I find aesthetically pleasing dies hard.

Next Time: Old Cars or Photos to use as Backgrounds

Leave a Reply

