The photographic explorations of a former film student.

Easter Baskets

Easter baskets. Probably everyone who celebrated Easter as a kid got one at least once. Most are made of plastic or wicker and are about six inches in diameter. For me, however, an Easter basket is something a bit different.

When I was little, my grandma used to make my sister and I crochet or plastic canvas Easter baskets every year. Some were quite small, others were a bit larger. One of mine doesn’t have a handle. She would fill them with Easter grass, a couple of plastic eggs, chocolate, and maybe even a small toy of some sort. As kids, we were always excited to get our baskets, mostly because we wanted to see what Grandma had made us that year. All the stuff inside was nice, but the basket itself was the big deal. Eventually, Grandma’s arthritis got bad enough that she could no longer make the Easter baskets. I still have mine, all of them. They make wonderful Easter decorations, by themselves, or trying my limited floral arranging skills, with flowers.

This is the last Easter basket my grandma made for me. Overall, I think it has the most elegant shape.

Next Time: Security

I decided I need to practice my indoor photography skills.

One response

  1. Editor Mindy

    Your photography skills is excellent. Look forward to more of ur post. I like the pink bunny with the easter basket! πŸ˜€ Visit my blog when u’re free! πŸ˜€

    April 18, 2012 at 6:31 am

Leave a Reply

