The photographic explorations of a former film student.

The View-Master Personal Stereo Camera

 Between the holidays, my father and I went to visit my grandma and help my uncle with some repairs on her home. My uncle frequents auctions, and sometimes, he buys a box of things for one item on top. Occasionally, he gets an old camera hidden in the box. One evening, he presented two of such cameras to my father as candidates for induction into The Camera Collection. (For those of you who frequent my blog, most of the cameras I photograph belong to my father. He has an old habit of not getting rid of cameras and picking up interesting specimens.) One look at the case told us this camera was in.

Meet Freddie. He’s an early 1950’s Stereo Camera used to photograph slides for the View-Master. (You know, the little red-orange devices you had as a kid?) Isn’t he handsome?

 

 This is the exposure guide. Look familiar, my fellow former cinema and photo students? Yep, a fancy Sunny 16 guide.

 Although it may seem primitive at first, closer examination reveals this camera as a mechanical marvel. You can find more information and a manual here: http://www.vmresource.com/manuals/index.html

 

 

2 responses

  1. I didn’t even know these existed… I used to just love clicking away with my little red… what were they called anyway?? Very cool find!

    February 13, 2012 at 2:23 am

    • Those were fun toys. I have no idea how many people actually went through the trouble of shooting and mounting their own slides. It would be cool, albeit laborious.

      February 13, 2012 at 3:18 am

Leave a Reply

