The photographic explorations of a former film student.

Fake Flowers

If imitation is the highest form of flattery, Nature should be pleased. When we can’t have real flowers, we make them out of plastic and fabric. Such imitations are strewn around my room, arranged in vases and small baskets. When I was little, I had this truly impractical fantasy about living in a garden. My decor shows that I’ve not totally abandoned this idea.

Yes, the fake flowers are pretty, and you can arrange them in cute little groups. 

However, I sometimes wonder if creation should be offended by our poor shadows of its glory.

It’s cheap, it’s plastic, the edges are frayed, and the centers are never quite right.

On the flip side, you don’t notice all of that from a distance. They’re colorful, they’re pretty, and they’re going to be in my room for many more months or years. I jut have to make sure I don’t let them collect dust.

 

Next Week: Nature Archive or Thanksgiving

Due to the fact that I’m working most days this week (including Black Friday) it will probably be archive either of a park I went to last year or some real flowers.

 

2 responses

  1. Great post! I prefer real flowers haha. Thanks for liking my post!

    November 22, 2011 at 6:53 pm

  2. Great Vibrant of colors nice post 🙂

    November 26, 2011 at 2:40 am

Leave a Reply

