The photographic explorations of a former film student.

Film

A while back, I was sorting out some stuff and happened to pick up an old box of prints and negatives from highschool when I still shot with my old Minolta AF-C (https://mycameramyfriend.wordpress.com/2011/05/30/my-first-camera/). They are weighty boxes that smell of the emulsion stored within.

Although I shoot digital these days, film conjures up strong emotions in me. I took several film photography courses, and, if that wasn’t enough, I was also a film student. The smell of emulsion takes me back to learning to process black and white film, making prints in the darkroom, and learning to load and shoot with different kinds of cameras. Sometimes I can almost feel the magazines as if I were about to turn off the lights and load them. I’m a sentimental creature, sometimes. I suppose that’s why I have a 16mm reel that I got as a prize for the department handbook quiz hanging on my wall with a short end of black and white reversal film on it. The green antihalation coating goes with my decor.

Smell is said to be one of the strongest memory triggers. What smells bring back memories for you?

Next Week: Outdoor Portrait or Classic Camera

If the weather and people’s schedules cooperate, I’m adding some portraiture to the blog. If not, it’ll be the camera.

One response

  1. Hi, MCMF. I blog over at everydayepistle.com. I’m working on a post called Cutting Room Floor. I need a shot of movie film or a reel with film, like the one in your post today. Would you give me permission to use this photo or another of yours like it in my post? I will be happy to attribute and link to your blog or site, whatever you want. Let me know. You can reach me on my blog or at everydayepistle@att.net. Thanks!

    September 26, 2011 at 10:14 pm

Leave a Reply

