The photographic explorations of a former film student.

An Exploration

Saturday, my father and I went on a photographic scouting expedition to a local park we’d just been told about. For me, it was more of a preliminary shoot, as I brought my normal camera. We spent half of the time learning the terrain and the new sights, and finding out that over half of the park was across a creek with no bridge over it. Overall, it was a nice place, but a different season/time of day combo would have made it better for photography.

The first thing I saw was a bunch of fungus in the shape of large flower petals.

 

The park was full of small trees that had been bent or knocked over during recent storms, forming archways. Many more trees were swaying unsteadily in the breeze above our heads.

 

In contrast, there were some large, sturdy old oaks with lots of octopus like dead branches. Very interesting, but as you can see, not the best lighting conditions. I’ll have to come back another day.

 

The leaves are just barely starting to turn up here, so it will probably be another few weeks before I shoot nature again.

 

Next Week

Honestly, next week comes at a busy time for me. My next post may be late, archived, or both. Hopefully neither. Hopefully I will be photographing negatives and short ends of film. I was a film student, so I have them, and I have a strange emotional attachment to them.

 

2 responses

  1. I enjoyed sharing the outing- and I especially loved the pic of the tree fungus. Does that make me weird? LOL

    September 20, 2011 at 12:00 am

    • If it makes you weird, I’m more weird. Photograhing tree fungus is great. That’s how I get some of my favorite shots. 🙂

      September 20, 2011 at 1:16 am

Leave a Reply

