The photographic explorations of a former film student.

What do Your Shoes Say?

I started looking at my shoes this week – trying to figure out which ones I wanted to photograph. Boring tennis shoes? Nope. Sandals? Plain black heels? Black flats? No, no, and no. I have a variety of shoes, most of which I wear for one occasion or another, but the majority of them are fairly utilitarian. For example, I would never wear these, even if they came in my size:

 Yes, they are doll shoes. Aren’t they pretty? And totally impractical. Glad I’m not a doll.

Then why do I have these shoes?

 Upon more serious thought, are they mine? Yes, they are sitting in the bottom of my closet, and I do remember buying them (for very little money on sale), but they don’t seem like they belong to me. These should be on the feet of some trendy little tween girl. Upon further thought, I realized that all the shoes I have represent different aspects of my life and personality. The athletic shoes are active, comfortable, and casual. They say I work and value functionality. The  sandals say I can be laid back, under the right conditions. The heels add that I can dress in a more formal and traditional manner. The black flats speak for my desire to balance looks and functionality.  And the purple plastic shoes above? They’re just a side of me that lies under the surface. The side that wants to try something new, be unusual, and have some fun. I may not wear these shoes very often, but that side if me is an undercurrent in my life. Some of my other shoes can attest to that. At least none of them are nearly as uncomfortable or impractical as the doll shoes would be if they came in my size.

What do your shoes say about you? What’s the strangest pair of shoes you ever owned?

Next Week: Car Details

There are four cars immediately available to me. However, I might look for a cruise night or classic car show. If I don’t find one, you might see me wandering around a parking lot. Or maybe I’ll just have to be content with four cars and not creep anyone out.

5 responses

  1. An interesting post about shoes,l like it,i think the shoes in the second picture are very cute and beautiful!

    August 29, 2011 at 7:35 am

  2. I used to judge materialism by numbers of pairs of shoes. Except then I counted my own and decided it was a bad measure 🙂

    August 31, 2011 at 11:13 am

    • Yeah, sometimes I think my shoe shelf is long due a purge.

      August 31, 2011 at 1:29 pm

  3. I like this charming post Yep, those doll shoes are cutesy, but they look like hammertoe encouragers! The jelly shoes brought back memories-I had pink ones as a kid…dont much deal with pink now… My strangest pair of shoes…never really had a strange pair, but I have a pair of hidden platform 4 inch stilettos in a kind of ruby!

    September 5, 2011 at 9:11 pm

    • My sister and I always wanted jelly shoes as kids. My mom conceeded to clear sandles that we had to wear socks under. I guess that’s another reason why I bought these shoes. 🙂

      September 6, 2011 at 12:21 am

Leave a Reply

