The photographic explorations of a former film student.

Jewelry: What is it to You?

Sometimes, jewelry is symbolic of a belief, a hobby, a birth month, or a relationship. It is also given to commemorate special occasions. Here are a few pieces and the stories they tell and bring to mind.

This old ring came to rest in my sister’s jewelry box after my mother found it in an older jewelry box she purchased at a thrift store. It is quite aged and makes me think of the passage of time and the marks it can leave. However, the ring remains decorative and pleasing. From a normal distance, you would never notice how scarred it is. I wonder who owned it before, how she got it, and what it ment to her.

My Aunt sent me this dragonfly necklace for my birthday during my sophomore year of college. I thought it was darling and proceeded to wear it the very next day – to my splicing test. Ah, filmschool rites of passage.

This last one may be the first piece of jewelry I ever owned, or at least I’ve had it as long as I can remember. I believe it was given to me for my baby dedication. For those of you who aren’t familiar with the idea, baby dedication is common in many evangelical Christian churches. Essentially, the parents bring their baby up to the front of the church and promise to do their best raising him/her. The pastor usually reminds the church they are to support the family and prays that God will bless the child. Pretty simple and short. Usually, this happens one baby at a time when the baby is a few weeks old. I recently found a piece of paper that informed me mine was not so. Apparently, I was dedicated on Easter with several other babies. I guess that explains the pretty flower in the center of my necklace?

Do you have any special jewelry that reminds you of an important event, concept, or time in your life?

Next Week: Shoes

Yes, I did just randomly decide on that. I want to do something different, and shoes have been on my mind for other reasons.

8 responses

  1. I’ve been meaning to do a series on my favorite pieces of jewelry for a couple years now! I love your stories and how you included texture in your backgrounds. Each piece pops off the background and it really makes the jewelry the star! The cross is my favorite; it has a beautiful warmth.

    Would you mind if I did a similar post and linked to your post to credit you for inspiration?

    August 22, 2011 at 11:22 pm

    • That’s fine with me. Hope you have a good time doing it. 🙂

      August 23, 2011 at 2:04 pm

  2. I liked the cross the most as well. I think history of things in the context of people lives is such a great canvas for a story. Nice pictures I will have a look at your portfolio now 🙂

    August 23, 2011 at 7:38 pm

  3. First, thanks for visiting my blog and leaving a comment! I always like that. 🙂
    I like your jewelry idea and may also steal it… giving credit tho! I love your dragonfly, as I am partial to them. The ring, I believe, represents me – the passage of time and the marks it can leave – “from a normal distance, you would never notice how scarred it is.” Profound, really. Funny, I was just wearing a special piece of jewelry on my birthday Sunday – a charm bracelet that I’ve had since somewhere around 5th or 6th grade, which makes it about 40 years old!

    August 24, 2011 at 4:03 am

    • It’s great that you still have your bracelet. I love old things that have a history behind them.

      August 24, 2011 at 8:00 pm

  4. I often wear a ring that was bought for me by my mother at an arts festival when I was just a kid, still fits like a glove. I’m not sure what meaning it really has, but it’s totally there.
    I also wear this purse that was my great-grandmothers, it’s all vintage and adorable as well as being sentimental.
    ps. like the shoes idea.

    August 25, 2011 at 5:35 pm

  5. I received some jewelry as gifts from my friends,i don’t like wear jewelry ,but i value them as they remind me of the friendship between my friends and me.

    August 26, 2011 at 7:28 am

    • I have some I don’t wear often, but it’s from family and is often tied to a holiday or something.

      August 27, 2011 at 2:52 am

Leave a Reply

