The photographic explorations of a former film student.

The Faces of Jen

Last week, I valiantly attempted to photograph my cat Jenny, who can be kind of a moody sweetheart. Jen has been hiding behind a bed all day, only to come out about the time the sun starts to go down. She will sit my room, which is now way too dark for natural light photography of a living subject, even at ISO 1600. So one afternoon, I lured her out with my cell phone alarm and an open patio door (she loves to sniff the outside air). Problem: I have about one shot where the cat’s face is not in the patio door.

It’s been awhile since I photographed her, so she gave me her curious face. I would have used the tripod more, but Jen was on the floor, and my tripod doesn’t go very low. Also, Jen likes to rub her chin against the tripod in typical cat “I own this” fashion.

 

 

The next day, Mom was trying to frame a picture she’d purchased, and Jenny was very interested in the process. She sat on the chair next to the frame. Frame was her new friend, she owned it. Jen was a bit surprised by some of the things her mommy was doing with the picture. She gave her mommy the surprised Jen face.

 

 

Mommy finished with the picture and took the frame away. A bit miffed, Jen sat on the chair and assumed the “I am Queen Jen-Jen no matter what” pose.

 

 

Hopefully, Jen will end her reclusive phase and come out into the light more often so I can photograph her with her “I am so cute, it makes you want to cry” face. We’ll see. For more pictures of Jen, see my Catography post from last year.

 

Next Week: Jewelry

 

8 responses

  1. Such beautiful eyes! Very nice 🙂

    August 15, 2011 at 6:47 pm

  2. Those are very memorizing eyes.

    August 16, 2011 at 8:25 pm

  3. Your cat is adorable! Such beautiful photos. They really captured the personality and beauty!

    August 22, 2011 at 4:56 pm

  4. Your cat is so pretty! The other one a few posts back is an adorable cat as well.

    August 24, 2011 at 4:09 am

    • Thank you. They’re so adorable you have to love them.

      August 24, 2011 at 7:59 pm

  5. Jenny has a new fan. Adorable. Great photography! All Hail Queen Jen-Jen!

    August 31, 2011 at 7:44 pm

    • Thank you. I’ll let Jen know, she’ll be pleased. 🙂

      August 31, 2011 at 8:48 pm

  6. These are exquisite photos of an obviously exquisite animal.

    September 1, 2011 at 3:05 am

Leave a Reply

