The photographic explorations of a former film student.

Late Summer Nature

I hate to say it, but summer is getting towards the end. Back to school is plastered everywhere, days are getting shorter, and vegetation is starting to dry up. Looking about my yard, I became quite depressed with the state of things, so I headed off to the local nature preserve in hopes of something better. There are a few more plants at the preserve, not to mention butterflies and other wildlife. I even saw a rabbit who was good enough to sit still for me.

I spent a lot of time chasing butterflies around the park. I guess I just wanted a challenge.

 Most of the flowers have faded. This dying Queen Anne’s lace has an intricate design and interesting shape. I thought of several things to compare it to, but I won’t force a suggestion or limit anyone’s imagination.

 Summer’s not over yet. Get out and enjoy what’s left of it!

 

Next Week: Jenny, probably

She’s such a pretty cat, and when she’s in the right mood she’s a great subject.

7 responses

  1. Wonderful light, especially through bunny’s ears.

    August 8, 2011 at 11:11 am

  2. Your butterfly chasing was well worth it! You got a gorgeous shot. =) I also can’t believe the summer is winding down–what the heck happened to all that time???

    August 8, 2011 at 5:54 pm

  3. singlestrokechime

    Beautiful photos, as usual. I like the bunny photo 🙂

    August 9, 2011 at 8:58 am

  4. Love the bunny! Thanks so much for visiting my blog today and I’m glad I got a chance to visit your blog and see your lovely photos too xx

    August 11, 2011 at 9:54 pm

  5. the Queen Anne shot is fab!

    August 15, 2011 at 2:48 am

  6. Wow. These are terrific too. So crisp. The rabbit looks like he could jump off my screen…

    September 1, 2011 at 3:07 am

  7. Beautiful photos, cute bunny!

    October 9, 2011 at 9:11 pm

Leave a Reply

