The photographic explorations of a former film student.

Photographing Kitty: The Cat’s Point of View

As I’ve mentioned before, photographing cats can be tricky. Success depends on lighting conditions, experience, and the subject’s mood. Here is what Miss Precious was probably thinking the last time I attempted to photograph her. The first shot is just an introductory shot to let the cat know what I’m up to.

Ugh, the human is pointing that big black thing at me and disturbing my peace.

(The cat begins to pout.) What am I to do?

Maybe if I am cute I can get some attention out of the human. You know, a few chin scratches and head rubs. The good stuff.

Oh no! That just encourages the human’s picture-taking instinct. I will hide and pretend to sleep.

Oh, what is this? The human has opened the blinds so she can get more light. I will now go stalk a bird and press my nose up against the window, leaving noseprints on the glass. This makes it hard for the human to get my face on camera. Now that, my fellow felines, is how you deter humans from taking your picture when you’re not in the mood to be photographed. Humans, they never seem to notice when we’re having a bad fur day.

Next Week: Adventures in Stock Photography or Nature

15 responses

  1. mewithmycamera

    cute

    August 1, 2011 at 2:53 am

  2. Nice light on a sweet kitty!

    August 1, 2011 at 4:12 am

  3. What a gorgeous cat!

    August 1, 2011 at 9:17 pm

    • 🙂 I’ll pass your comment on to Precious.

      August 1, 2011 at 10:02 pm

  4. Hmm, exactly what I thought a cat would say.

    August 2, 2011 at 5:50 pm

    • They don’t need to talk, they just need to look at you.

      August 5, 2011 at 4:06 am

  5. My cats always get very suspicious when I attempt to photograph them. Perhaps I’ll try later today. Love your pictures. She looks like my old cat, Andy 🙂

    August 4, 2011 at 9:36 pm

    • My other cat, Jenny, always squints for the first shot or two because I tried to use flash on her when she was young. After she gets the idea that I’m not subjecting her to that unpleasantness, she has no problem posing. It took Precious some time to get more comfortable with the camera. You can see that she’s suspicious in some of my photos from last year. https://mycameramyfriend.wordpress.com/2010/10/08/catography-photographing-my-feline-friends/

      August 5, 2011 at 4:04 am

  6. You can make any photo creative with your imaginative captions! These are adorable. I might try and see if my pet birds will let me have a few pictures.

    August 8, 2011 at 8:36 pm

  7. This kitty is so cute and reminds me of Ginger, a kitty I lost last year. I have looked at some of your posts and will check back! I really like your photographs and the captions on this one were awesome. Pretty sure that’s what my cats think when I point my camera at them!

    August 29, 2011 at 9:12 pm

  8. I think we have the same cat: http://leahsthoughts.files.wordpress.com/2011/01/071111.jpg . Aren’t they beautiful? I love your photos, by the way.

    August 29, 2011 at 9:40 pm

    • Yes, that does look like P kitty. Little tiger cats are so cute.

      August 30, 2011 at 3:40 pm

    • Yep! I love this type of kitty 😀 thank you for your compliment on my photos. I don’t check back on comments for a while sometimes hehe. Glad I stopped by again though, Miss Precious is worth it. I will check around again 🙂

      October 26, 2011 at 12:11 am

  9. I love that “maybe if I am cute” picture – what a great cat photo, of what is clearly a great cat.

    October 25, 2011 at 4:29 am

  10. Anywhere Home

    The “becutegetattention” shot is amazing. It made me hold my breath. Great work!

    January 15, 2012 at 10:38 pm

Leave a Reply

