The photographic explorations of a former film student.

Archive Photoshop Experiments

Sorry for the late and archive post. I had a temporary job for several days that took a lot of my time and energy, so I haven’t been doing much else. These shots are from an assignment from my digital photography class back in the first semester of my sophomore year in college. Our final assignment was to get creative with Photoshop, and these are some of the pieces I still think have merit.

I remember liking the leaf and wanting to put it on a different color than the dull pavement. So I turned the background blue and added a texture glass filter to it. I still like the colors and textures, but it’s not what I’d create these days.

Admittedly, this next one was never a stellar photo, just a plain shot of a flower in the shade one afternoon. However, I still like the effect. I used one layer with a slight accented edges filter for the flower and another layer for glow and darkened the background. If I did it over, I’d tighten the vignette and make it darker.

This is a composite of many layers with some glow and color layers added for mood and effect. It was a personal favorite at the time, but now I think the cutouts are a tad lacking. Still, I am pleased with the overall effect.

Strange thing about this last one. It was the first shot I put together, and I didn’t really like it. If the lab hadn’t closed early the night I was finishing up this project, I would have made another and never turned this in. I was surprised to find it was my teachers favorite of my ten, and it tied for her favorite in the entire class. Personally, I favored  one of my classmate’s image of a giant clothes iron about to crush a parking lot full of cars.

So there you have it: a brief history of my non retouching and non graphic arts uses of Photoshop.

Next Week: the kitty pictures I was going to do this week

One response

  1. Gorgeous photos! Thank you so much for posting! (and I like the flower…) ~Pam

    July 31, 2011 at 7:35 am

Leave a Reply

