The photographic explorations of a former film student.

Unconventional Flowers

My apologies for the late post. Around 6pm yesterday as I was preparing to finnish the photos, my home was plunged into an uproar with tornado sirens going off and humans frantically trying to locate flashlights and kitties. The power came back on around 3pm this afternoon. Other than that, it was beautiful last week. Not many new flowers were out, and the ones that “made the grade” for my blog were not exactly what you think of when you hear the word flowers.

The blue spruce outside my window is unfurling for the spring. The new growth comes out of reddish-brown casings and is a lovely shade of green swirled up so the end looks semi-flower-like.

The dandelion, a common weed, produces the most magical looking fluff towards the end of its life cycle. Here, I used a macro lens to capture the detail.

As for other weeds, I was a horrible gardener and let this one grow in my shade garden because I wanted to see what it would look like when it bloomed. It paid me back by producing a lovely, yet unusual flower. The anthers seem to be attached to small petals rather than the normal stalk like structures on most flowers.

Lastly, these tiny flowers come from a red, thorny bush. I’ve passed those bushes many times without noticing the delicate ornaments. When I finally did see them, I had to wait for enough light to photograph them.

Sometimes there’s beauty in less than obvious places. Life is short, so take time to smell the roses, or whatever else you find out there.

Next Week: My First Camera

Since I’ve been threatening to do it for so long, I’m going to show you what my very first camera looks like. I may have a few others as well.

2 responses

  1. pretty flowers and details of dandelion

    May 24, 2011 at 1:00 am

  2. I’ve never seen a dandelion that close up before. Nice!

    May 25, 2011 at 11:11 am

Leave a Reply

