The photographic explorations of a former film student.

Indoor Abstracts

Last week, the weather was poor and I was in an odd mood. I felt inspirationally dry, so I decided to play a game, resulting in some less serious photographs. The rules of my game were as follows: all images were to be shot as if in monochrome, toning/split toning in Lightroom would later be used to enhance the feel of the image, photographs were to be of everyday objects in one room, objects should preferably not be easily recognizable in the final shot, normal object orientation was to be seen as a barrier to overcome.

This was the first object to grab my attention. The soft, round shapes and contrasting materials made me think of three things: a flower, ice cream in a cup, or some sort of mod-style architectural detail.

desk lamp

 
 
Next, there was this open end of an old clear glass vase that for some odd reason I saw as a horizontal with limited depth of field. I don’t know why. Anyway, the point of this exercise was to do what I felt like doing randomly. So I gave it a try.
 
 

 

For the third image, I went a bit more standard than the rules. The detail on my new lamp provided a symmetrical heart shape with some additional ornamentation. I found it hard to resist.

Lastly, I wondered about the bottom side of vases. I’ve photographed lots of them, but always right side up. This particular example had a flower shape on the bottom. The unrefined and scared glass bottom coupled with a purple tone reminded me of the photographs of uncut amethyst in science books.

I couldn’t do this every week. For one thing, it wouldn’t be adequate practice and skill building. It’s a break. A chance to let loose and do something different for once just as a creative exercise.

Next Week: Outdoors or First Camera

Depending on the weather, I’ll either shoot more of the natural world or give you a look at the first camera I learned to use.

7 responses

  1. I like these – simple shapes, clean lines, imagination.

    May 17, 2011 at 1:39 am

  2. great shots…exploring beauty in everyday objects is one of the interesting and engaging thing about photography!

    May 17, 2011 at 7:35 am

  3. Those are amazing pictures! The heart shapes in the lamp are definitely hard to resist! Thanks for sharing 🙂

    May 17, 2011 at 6:45 pm

  4. I REALLY like your work! You do an awesome job. Your photos are of simple items but have so much life! Thank you for sharing your work! 🙂

    http://www.happinesswhatsittoyou.wordpress.com

    June 28, 2011 at 9:18 pm

    • Thank you! Visited your blog. Interesting stories and inspiration.

      June 28, 2011 at 9:56 pm

  5. nflsportfans

    are these pics you take ?

    July 14, 2011 at 9:23 am

    • Unless otherwise specified, all the photos on the blog are taken by me.

      July 18, 2011 at 11:05 pm

Leave a Reply

