The photographic explorations of a former film student.

Imagination

I have to admit this was a more difficult assignment. Imagination takes many forms. What does it look like? How do you express it? The answers to these questions are different for everyone. However, there are some popular avenues for expressing imagination.

Many children grow up drawing what’s in their heads – letting their imagination out visually on paper with whatever you give them. As a child, my imagination allowed me to see or be anything. Fashion designer, strange creatures, other worlds, characters from TV series, pets, and, of course, a flying woman.

More mature forms of expressing one’s imagination can include meticulous planning and multiple drafts. Drawing is still a possibility, but most of us find ourselves lacking the will or talent to be serious artists in that particular craft. There’s also a consciousness of the impact of sharing our imaginations with others. Do I want to go there? Will this hurt someone? Is that too dark?

Some of us choose to express our imagination photographically. A photograph is not just a record of what is or was, it’s how you saw or rather chose to see what was there – your world picked out piece by piece from all the chaos that actually surrounds you. And sometimes, when there’s an image in your head, creation occurs in a more from scratch basis: you set things up. Some of us even create in the digital darkroom, but how far do you go with that?

Imagination is ever-present in my life, but it’s aways accompanied by the nagging questions. Can I make this “real” in a sense? Is it original? Is it quality? Should I let this out of my head? What is your imagination, and what do you do with it?

Next Week: Weather Permitting

It’s getting greener, but also more rainy and windy. I’m planning to shoot outside and possibly see if I can use some of this wind artistically. We shall see.

One response

  1. Inspiring post! I am going to explore what my imagination is and how I express it. Thanks for supplying food for thought 🙂

    May 9, 2011 at 8:04 pm

Leave a Reply

