The photographic explorations of a former film student.

Blue: A Study

This week, I tried something different. Instead of a type of object, I chose a color: blue. First, I thought of the emotional connotations of the color. For lighter shades, these include thought, powerlessness, and we’ve all heard of feeling blue.  Going with the initial emotional ideas, I started with a vase in the form of a young woman. She is sad and alone. The placement of light and shadows, as well as limited depth of field, make her seem vanishing and helpless. Empty, the vase seemed gaping, so I added a blue flower. It’s a bit warmer shade of blue with some yellow. The girl peers down at it like a cherished ray of hope.

 Darker and brighter shades of blue can give a stronger and happier impression. Since I didn’t want to keep on such a depressing path this week, I used two common household items to create a “design” style shot. Guess what they are?

One of my all-time favorite blue objects is this candle holder. I don’t burn candles, so I use it to store my watch and other commonly worn articles while I’m at home. The trick was trying to get it to look illuminated by a blue light source. I shined a blue LED flashlight into the candle holder. Since there’s such a range between the light and the dark, I composited three images in Photoshop to produce the final effect. Got to keep those Photoshop skills up somehow. I feel they’re slipping away.

Next Week: The Dawn of Spring or Vases 2

After weeks of waiting on the weather, it looks like spring is finally here! I saw the first flowers today, and the trees are budding out. But just in case it’s too stormy to shoot, there are a couple of vases someone I know would like photos of.

7 responses

  1. seo services in delhi

    Hello
    Nice posting
    Good pic post on your blog

    April 12, 2011 at 6:34 am

  2. Thanks so much for visiting my ‘Careann’s Musings’ blog today via Freshly Pressed. I love meeting new people here in cyberspace. As a writer I keep my blog’s focus mostly on writing, but I post on other topics, too. I’ve enjoyed having a peek at your blog. Your photos are intriguing! And I love the previous post with the old cameras. In my mother’s possessions was a box camera, and I remember my father-in-law having one that extended such as your final photo. Now we think ordinary 35mm cameras are “old”. I still have mine tho’ I don’t use it anymore. I have a fairly simple Pentax digital now which meets my everyday needs, but I’m not a true photographer. For me, easier is better. 🙂

    April 13, 2011 at 4:39 am

    • Thank you for stopping by!

      April 13, 2011 at 4:53 am

  3. I like the pictures very much. Especially the last one 🙂

    April 17, 2011 at 8:28 am

  4. I really like the last pic. I was really into photography when I was younger, but I never stuck with it. I wish I had. Beautiful pics!

    May 25, 2011 at 11:14 am

  5. Joyce Bentle

    HI Grace! It’s your cousin Joyce here! I’m over at my mom and dad’s today for Father’s Day and Mom showed me your blog. Beautiful work! You have such a good eye for photography. We should get together some time and I will pull out my old Minolta film camera – we could go shooting together. I particularly like shooting the old Tri-X pan film (B&W) because if gives you that beautiful grain. I even know of a camera shop where I can get it developed! HAHA

    Anyway, I just love your work and I’m going to go down here and subscribe to your blog.

    Love ya!
    Joyce

    June 19, 2011 at 7:11 pm

    • Hi, thank you for stopping by! 🙂 I’ve been threatening to shoot some film since dad built a darkroom in the basement, but I’ve not done so yet. Glad you can still get the Tri-X developed, it’s getting more and more difficult to find labs that will process certain kinds of film.

      June 22, 2011 at 5:40 am

Leave a Reply

