The photographic explorations of a former film student.

Photographic Heritage: My Father’s Nikon F

Last week, I thought about photographing my first camera, but I decided an old classic would be a better choice. Photographing my father’s Nikon F, the first good SLR he ever owned, with my modern Nikon DSLR was a special experience. It tied together all the big happy camera/photoness in the house. This particular Nikon F is 45 years old and is still dearly beloved by my father. It was the best of its kind back in the day, and it is now a classic camera. Naturally, my dad made me promise I’d be extra careful with it.

The Nikon F.

 

Detail of lens and prism.

 

Markings

 

To all the Canon people out there, I’m not waging Holy War. I have dear friends who are Canon people. It’s just a little nostalgic Nikon person stuff. I’ll be less controversial next week.

Next Week: Time Outdoors, or Crazy Experiments Indoors

Speaking of next week, I’m thinking of braving the apparent bleakness of March in the faith that there’s something good out there. If not, I’ve heard dropping different liquids into each other is pretty amazing.

8 responses

  1. Colin Wolcott

    I really like the first shot.

    March 7, 2011 at 3:15 am

  2. What a neat post. I loved the line, “It tied together all the big happy camera/photoness in the house.”

    If you and your dad have a shared hobby like this — you should take advantage of it! Go on a photo journey together.

    Have him take pictures of things that make him think of you, and vice versa. Make up other categories: first house, happiest memory with mom, etc… You can each take a picture, and then compare them. Like a visual diary.

    Thanks for sharing!

    March 8, 2011 at 2:42 am

    • Thank you for the comment and suggestions. Right now, Dad and I are into very different photographic styles. He is shooting 4″x5″ and I’m shooting digital. Still it’s great to know we can talk photography to each other, bounce ideas around, and work together. Who knows, I may be his assistant this summer. Hopefully we can take a few outings together. 🙂

      March 8, 2011 at 4:29 am

  3. fionaqiqi

    i’ve a Nikon too. but yours is much cooler, especially when it’s from Father, lol.

    March 8, 2011 at 12:46 pm

    • I’m just glad he let me borrow it. 🙂

      March 8, 2011 at 2:00 pm

  4. Love these pics! My grandma was the one who got me into photography. I wish I still had his camera! Does your did still use this one?

    March 25, 2011 at 3:18 am

    • Oops, I meant grandpa, not grandma

      March 25, 2011 at 3:19 am

    • Sadly no. It developed some shutter problems. The last time I remember using it, I was in high school and the two of us were trying to photograph a lunar eclips one cold fall night. Our 1980s Nikon was overly dependent on batteries and quit functioning in the cold. Sometimes the old way is just better. 🙂

      March 25, 2011 at 4:45 am

Leave a Reply

