The photographic explorations of a former film student.

Things to Come

Last week, temperatures in my corner of the world were unseasonably high. Snow melted, rain fell, and hope of spring was brighter than ever. The beginning of a new week brings us a reality check: snow and ice present and forecasted. However, spring is coming in about a month, which is some small comfort to impatient people like me.

When I long for something, I find myself easily reminded of it. I can’t wait for the tender shoots of spring greenery to rise through the ground. Bowl handles of all things reminded me of these shoots. A little tweaking was needed to make them greenish.

Like most people, my family keeps a few houseplants. I suppose this custom of keeping plants indoors began as an attempt to prevent insanity in the outdoors/green-thumbed type during the long winter months. It helps, but it doesn’t exactly work. Although the plants are pretty, full-blown cabin fever will eventually set in.

African Violet bud.

The newest edition to the flora of our home sits proudly atop the fridge. Yes, on the fridge. We were gifted with a lovely Amaryllis which happens to be toxic to our dear pussy cats. The top of the fridge is about the only place our athletic pussies can’t get to. This beautiful plant seems to defy winter with its long stalks and brilliant flowers, bringing a welcome bit of cheer into the bleak winter. Though winter may still be with us, the signs of things to come are here as well.

Next Week: Cameras

My father and I both collect old amateur format cameras, which I’ve been threatening to photograph for some time now. The time has come. I think I’m going to start with instamatics, but I might pull out a box camera, disk camera, or my first camera. We’ll see.

4 responses

  1. Very nice blog and your photos are Beautiful! Thank you for stopping by last week during my Freshly Pressed claim to fame!
    Debbie 🙂

    February 21, 2011 at 10:26 pm

  2. Great photos

    February 26, 2011 at 8:58 am

  3. Laura Tönnies

    The red flower is amazing!
    Nice blog – great photos 🙂

    February 28, 2011 at 9:14 pm

  4. Fabulous close ups. I wish I could get my flowers in such detail.

    March 3, 2011 at 2:31 am

Leave a Reply

