The photographic explorations of a former film student.

Knitted Rose Pins

My sister made these knitted rose pins and is planning to sell them. I’m not exactly sure how she plans on selling them, but she wanted pictures and I needed ideas, so we struck a deal. Or rather I just did it for her. Since Valentine’s day is coming up, she asked me to photograph them in an old chocolate box she had. I fussed with arranging them for a while, then turned to the Fannie May website to see how the masters arrange candy in boxes. This gave me a good starting point. Thanks to Photoshop, the name of the candy company on the box was replaced with a more appropriate phrase.

Not all of the pins were in Valentine colors. In fact, some were springy light blue and yellow. They made me feel bright and happy and want to go picking common wild flowers. So I put them on a white background with a simple basket.

Because I needed to show a way to wear the pins, I photographed them on a coat. Red and black provide a good contrast as well as a classic color pairing for a coat and a flower.

Next Week:

Honestly, I’m not sure what I’m doing next week. It will probably be jewelry, but I may choose cameras instead. At any rate, I think I’m going to be doing those two things for several weeks. However, I might throw in some snow shots. We’ll see.

2 responses

  1. Has your sister tried http://www.etsy.com? I think these pins would be PERFECT to sell on that site. Have her search for similar items so she can determine pricing. The listing fee is very low. I’m going to open up a store soon to sell my photographic prints as well as handcrafted items such as jewelry and small paintings.

    Thanks for the comment on my blog today!

    Cindy

    http://www.cindydyer.wordpress.com

    http://www.gardenmuse.wordpress.com

    January 28, 2011 at 12:22 am

    • Thank you too. I’ll mention etsy to my sister.

      January 28, 2011 at 12:54 am

Leave a Reply

