The photographic explorations of a former film student.

Window Light and Age

Last week, I shot some still life photographs using window light, a small mirror, and some white poster board. It worked pretty well, but I’d like some more control over the light. Maybe with practice, I’ll learn to get the control I want with what I have.

In the first photograph, the window was like a giant softbox for me. I used the mirror to throw a little more light on the necklace. The idea for the photograph started with the books. They have such texture and age, but on their own, they lack a single focal point. Since the books are about something I love (photography), I chose a heart necklace as the focal point. This particular necklace was a good size and also had a feeling of age to it.

The second photo was illuminated mainly by  window light reflected from white poster board surrounding the pin. My only motivation for taking this photo was that I love this pin. The jewelry box seemed to be about the right age and I liked the colors together. I considered putting lace under the pin, but that proved too distracting. Thanks to Photoshop, you don’t notice the pin is actually missing a crystal. Any guesses as to which one? Let me know if you can tell, because that means I have work to do.

Next Project: Vases

Some time ago, I posted pictures of various parts of vases. I’ve been thinking I should show the entire vase and some more vases. I collected them at one point, so I still have quite a few hanging around. Check back next week (hopefully Monday) to see how it went.

One response

  1. Nice photos. I like the second one a lot. I tried to find the missing crystal, but I’d say you did a great job with Photoshop because I can’t find it!

    January 15, 2011 at 3:35 am

Leave a Reply

