The photographic explorations of a former film student.

Exploring the Village: A Look at a Small Midwestern Town

I live in an area with a lot of small towns. The sense of community and history in these places fascinates me. They’re so small and simple and so layered and complex at the same time. You can see the marks different eras and trend have left on them. A few weeks ago, I got curious about a nearby small town (officially named a village) and decided to go exploring with my camera friend. I ignored the recently constructed stores and gas stations near the highway and headed into the older center of town. There’s not much to see, but what I did see brought to mind a list of questions. Why did they paint the town hall blue? Whose idea was that? Did there used to be another building next to that one? You could imagine a hundred stories.

4 responses

  1. sarahloub

    I LOVE old towns like this! There aren’t too many around here in the PNW, but that makes the “discovery” of one all the more wonderful.

    December 14, 2010 at 6:19 pm

  2. love the photos…it’s really interesting to see old buildings and vintage stuff still existing!

    January 29, 2011 at 12:02 am

    • Thank you for commenting. Sometimes it’s surprising how much old stuff still exists. I spent two summers working with an independent film group on a period film, so I learned to love it.

      January 29, 2011 at 1:32 am

  3. Pingback: My First Camera « Mycameramyfriend's Blog

Leave a Reply

