The photographic explorations of a former film student.

Back to the Woods

It was the perfect late Autumn day to go for a walk in the woods. So perfect that I was far from the only one out. As the weather grows colder, the colors and light in my part of the midwest take on the most curious hues. I’m just realizing how much I’ve missed this season while in college down south. If it existed, I didn’t have much time to enjoy it. (No offence to the South. I’ve not seen much of it, but I know it has its own charms.)  Absence makes you appreciate what you have even more when you finally get it back. I went to a different part of the forest preserve this time. Both sides of the woods are beautiful in their own way. They can also be quite different if you look for variety, although I’m sure the change of seasons and different times of day help.

2 responses

  1. Rose

    These are beautiful! :)Love the mushrooms and the ferns growing out in strange places. Forests are always amazing places to visit and relax.

    November 17, 2010 at 6:00 pm

  2. Enjoyed your pictures. There is something about being someplace that has four seasons that makes the heart yearn for it when you are not there.

    November 23, 2010 at 5:09 am

Leave a Reply

